Van Aggelen African Literary Agency

Eugen Bacon

Eugen M. Bacon is African Australian, a computer scientist mentally re-engineered into creative writing. Her work has won, been shortlisted, longlisted or commended in national and international awards, including the Foreword Book of the Year Awards, Bridport Prize, Copyright Agency Prize, Australian Shadows Awards, Ditmar Awards and Nommo Awards for Speculative Fiction by AfricansHer novella Ivory’s Story was shortlisted in the 2020 British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards. Recent works: Danged Black Thing, a short story collection by Transit Lounge Publishing (2021), Saving Shadows, an illustration collection by NewCon Press (2021) and Mage of Fools, an Afrofuturistic dystopian novel by Meerkat Press (2022). And her short story ‘The Failing Name’will be published in August (2021) issue of Fantasy Magazine!


Twitter: @EugenBacon

about Eugen Bacon:

Complex, earnest, and striking, Bacon’s impeccable work is sure to blow readers away- Publishers Weekly, September 2020

A new star is born in the emerald skies of Fantasy, and its name is Eugen Bacon.” – Nuzo Onoh, author of The Reluctant Dead 

“Bacon expertly weaves a speculative world with harsh and mundane realities to form a lush and magical tale about the importance of love and the courage needed to face the demons of this world and the next. Highly recommended.” – Nick Wood, author of Azanian Bridges


Second-hand Daylight – all rights available
Mage of Fools – Meerkat Press, exp 2022
Ivory’s Story – NewCon Press 2021
The Road to Woop Woop and Other Stories – Meerkat Press 2020